The little things

It is amazing how little things can make a huge difference in your well being.

Of course the week with the late late football was not going as planned. However it is what it is and life goes on. It did mean a very peaceful Thursday morning at work with a number of people needing to work ont he disappointment

Speaking of work; Over there I work in an office. I share mine with one colleague and that to me is pretty perfect. Sure beats working a cubicle garden and it is also better than just having an office to yourself. Besides one day a week my colleague is away and I work from home another day of the week So really we are only there together 3 days max a week. We both have a rather large, corner shaped desk, which only helps to accumulate stuff and more stuff. After all there is enough room for it.

One minor detail is that in that office I am seated with my back to the door. Even in such a way that really people step into the office right behind my back. As you can imagine this is rather unsettling and there have been a few times that people startled me to an extend that my colleague had to peel me from the ceiling. Another thing is that people walking past see clearly what I have on my screen and to be honest that feels invasive. Not  that I have anything terrible on the screen, but somehow I feel caught out if it is the news I have on my screen. Also people tend to stay in the door opening for a quick question which with the position means that I have to twist my neck somewhat. Most people in my department are aware of these issues and take care not to startle me and to step into the office when they want to discuss things.  But I’d had enough and requested that my desk was going to be moved into a corner. Rather face the wall than being startled on a daily basis.

As there is lots going on at work I was put at the end of the priority list. As this was done in consultation I was pretty OK with it. After all I was pretty glad that they saw my issue as real, and it also allowed me to think through what position I wanted my desk in. In doing so it hit me that there really were only three positions that these two large desk would fit the office space, the one we were in and both facing the wall up close, both having our backs (albeit further into the office) to the door and turning the desks 180 degrees, which would mean that our fire exit was not accessible in an approved manner. Not a good choice now is it?

So I had to think up something else, Yesterday I ended up asking for a straight desk instead of the corner desk which is now parked when you come into the office door directly to the right. It means I can see who is coming in and I have a little corner which is all mine. The window behind me has blinds which I partially close so that people on the stairs cannot read my screen. The desk seems smaller as it is shorter, but it is also deeper and with my mobile drawer set I can lengthen in it my little corner. On top of that I like the fact that I sit straighter in front of my screen. The corner desk , well I never sit there quite 100% in front, it always feels as if one edge is closer than the other, not matter how much I adjust.

It is remarkable but I feel so much calmer working already and Friday when the big change happened I got so much more done because I felt more relaxed. It just shows me that people need to be able to have their own little corner of the office, which feels a little private, but is also within the environment. I now have my little corner and I am a happy worker for now.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Made me think, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The little things

  1. draliman says:

    I absolutely hate sitting anywhere where people can come in behind me. Work, restaurants, anywhere at all. I’m like one of those spies who always sits near an exit with their eye on the door 🙂

    • Gilraen says:

      A spy? Oh dear never thought of it that way.
      I don;t like it much either, though not as bad as you. I mean a restaurant does not bother me a lot. But this; if anyone opened the door it would be about 25 cm from the edge of my seat.
      After everything was changed over one of my collegues in the next office said; You look so much more at ease now. It really is remarkable.

Leave a Reply

