Weird day alert

Wednesday was by far the weirdest day of the week.  It seemed like a normal day when it sort of started. It was a day off for me and in the morning I was studying (Coursera) and my bike was at a very much needed repair at the bike shop. But something from very early in the day showed that there was going to be something that day that makes that you’ll remember it.It was a day of mourning. Bells seldom heard were toiling. In our city the bell is hardly used because they are afraid the old bell tower is going to fall over but that day it was heard.  The bells are not far from us and in a straight behind our garden window. Boy does that sound move into the house, your soul and bones. Never heard them before and we’ve been here for 5 years now. It just chills you and all of a sudden you realise that there is something important that gets an extra attention you hardly ever hear. Utrecht used its Salvator in dressed fashion, it makes the sound less clear, more solemn. This bell is hand use only.  This is the bell that was shown on TV too.

Around 15.30 life seemed to stop. People went inside when possible The minute of silence was eerie. Nobody was outside, the silence was palatable. People watched, cried and showed their respects to the victims in the only way we knew how. Being silent, To me the picture of our King and Queen holding hands being distraught summed up what we all were feeling. Needless to say, King Willem Alexander has passed his first test. Did I cry? of course I did. Not only because of the unfairness of it all, but also because of what other people are going through. I am so impressed with how it all was organised on such short notice and how well it suited us as a country. The silence was a perfect mix of our grief and our immense anger at what happened.

Slowly after the ceremony life came back to normal again. As if waking up from a bad dream, head still reeling over what is happening/has happened but realising that life too is happening. As the sewing classes had stopped for summer I had two friends over for sewing and of course MH17 and the ceremony were a topic discussed. But also the more mundane like upcoming travel. It was a nice break in it all.

I was exhausted after that day. The emotional toll was great on one not directly affected I cannot imagine how that toll is on those that did loose a loved one.

 

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Interesting, Made me think, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weird day alert

  1. draliman says:

    It must have been quite an emotional day for everyone, and then the strangeness as life goes on afterwards.

Leave a Reply

