A new first for me

Shopping on line is nothing new. As time strapped people we love ordering our things on line. Books, gadgets, even clothes are becoming more often through the mail instead of from a brick shop.

Sewing wise I have been shopping for the tools of the trade. I buy scissors and other gadgets on line no problem, Fusible underlining, no issue with m, but so far I had drawn the limit as buying fabric on line. I am a touchy feely type of person where it comes to fabric and have resisted, until now that is.

The fabric site I used is the online shop from a stall that I know from the stoffenspektakel where I tend to go on a regular basis. I know their fabric I have touched it felt it and liked it. It is good quality but usually quite pricey. Not that that has always stopped me; the purple black boiled wool in this post is from them as is the lining of my silk jacket  in this post. In both cases he fabric was dream to work with.

Their on-line shop is now up and running and they had a clearance sale Fabrics with 50-70% off. Interesting. Not only that was a point but I really wanted some jersey for some projects (tops) In part because I can’t find anything to buy that I like, in part because I have these patterns in my head that I want to make and in part because at work I am getting some really good feedback.

I bought two jersey inkjet prints and one cotton with large flowers. I am finding it scary to buy the fabric on line I am really really quite apprehensive about it, but with the huge discounts and the fact that I know the people I decided to dive in after a good night sleep. Fingers crossed that they will be as nice as I think they are.

 

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Sewing, shopping, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new first for me

  1. draliman says:

    As soon as I started reading this post I was thinking “surely you don’t buy fabric online”! I hope it turns out okay. At least it’s a shop you’ve visited in “real life”.

    • Gilraen says:

      It is exactly the reason (plus the ridiculously high discounts) why I chose to do it. 😉 I have faith in these people

Leave a Reply

