Birthday

SO had his birthday. Our birthdays are only 18 days apart and we are usually on a holiday when I have mine. SO does not really care about a large birthday bash and with my parents celebrating their 70th this year, my in-laws having their 50th wedding anniversary and the nieces having their birthdays within a week of SO (one before, one after) we were sort of thinking just leave the celebration  bit.

Over the weekend we saw my in-laws, BIL/SIL and nieces. As an anniversary present we’d given them a photography session with us and the grandkids. Well that was kinda a perfect present as they so adore having pictures of the happy family. We needed to pick THE picture for enlargement and framing and they would like our input in it.

I know to MIL it was a bit of a thing that the one of their (I think) 30th anniversary could not really be on the walls as SOs XGF is in it and they split not long after the picture. MIL being quite sensitive to those sorts of things then put the picture away as there was no way to cut her out of the picture and have something decent left. But now they’ll have one that they can proudly display and not only of their sons with their spouses but also of the grandchildren. Really they cannot be happier than with something displaying this.

As the nieces were there and the youngest just had had her birthday and the eldest would in the following week we gave them their presents too. Both of them got books (something not making noise!) and they liked them. The eldest is not the proud owner of all parts to  Pippi Longstocking. No girl can grow up without the most mischievous, strong, courageous, unconventional  and wonderful Pippi being in her life. She hopefully will love reading the books as much as I did. The youngest will obviously get the children of the noisy village and she will get the other great Swedish story Nils Holgersson. Yes auntie is passing on her favourites to the nieces 🙂

On Monday my birthday boy went to work and brought cake. As he had not shouted out about his birthday his team had forgotten! Next day he got a present and a card admitting to being a lousy team (not so but the thought is appreciated) and when I asked him what he wanted for his birthday dinner he suggested going out. Before you ask, yes he got a present form me – A book on the big green egg with the technical details on how it works and some interesting nerdy cookie cutters from thinkgeek. Now normally going out for dinner on a Monday is somewhat unusual but really I liked the idea. It made his birthday a special day after all. So we went out to a very much well known – to us- local bistro and went for a walk afterwards and SO clearly was having a great birthday.

Next year – well we’ll see, what we do then, but at least going out for dinner is a nice touch.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Feelings, Friends, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday

  1. Miekje says:

    They are so lucky to have an auntie like you! Another book I think no (Dutch) child should be without is ‘Pluk van de Petteflet’, but only the original edition with illustrations by Fiep Westendorp. I have a few other favourites but they are more for teenagers. I still love children’s books!

    • Gilraen says:

      Annie M.G. Schmidt is complete in that household I think. SIL loved the stories so much that she bought/got everything to read as bedtime stories already.

Leave a Reply

