Just a little (teenage) crush

There are times that you are reminded that there is something called a past. A past when I too was one of those young women with crushes. Now I never was one of those screaming teenagers or compelete idiots but yeah I had crushes Seems so long ago but something then jumps up and all of a sudden you are there again and a search back starts.

It was on the 31 of August and we were in Scotland. As usual just reading the news and then it hit. Jimi Jamison singer of Survivor had died of a sudden heart attack. Just the day before he had still performed with the band and now…just goce. It doesn’t sink in for a while I mean people do die but hang on he was 63, way too young to die. Uhm he was 63. One of my high school crushes was 63? Oh holy everything that means …… well that I am not that young woman anymore either.  Hmm also he was not in the shape anymore that I he had when he was my crush. .Sure I also liked Dave Bickler, but Jimi won it in the looks stakes for me. Dave had the more out of the ordinary voice, a real Tenor but a rough edge.  Jimi’s was deeper and in many ways more powerful  and rounded, but without that edge that I loved so such on the earlier albums. Both voices have an appeal in part because I just love that hard rock blended with pop sound. The music has power without becoming overpowering. Still think Eye of the TIger is one of the best songs ever.

Now a few weeks later it starts to sink in; I have lost a little part of my youth and history. I am listening to a lot of my old albums again (well streaming them through Spotify) watching Youtube, clips not seen before as this was well before the Internet took off and all we had was MTV. I rediscovered some wonderful songs and can sing along to most of them Not that remarkable really as much as I love Survivor their lyrics do not count as high brow poetry but still it is awesome to find I still love that music.

Survivor was never as big here as they were in the US. But my taste in music has always been a little away from hit-parades I listened to Survivor, Journey, Big Country, Icehouse and of course my all times favourites Split Enz. Sure I also liked Duran Duran,  Aha and and Toto (with that other crush – Joseph Williams) too, but they were the guilty pleasures Generally I just liked it a little off the beaten track, still do really. Bands that did not perform near because there was not enough of a fanbase.

That meant that I never got to see many of my favourite bands live. I was lucky that Split Enz reformed for a concert on the 30th and 31th december 1999 and I was in NZ at the time and that I got tickets. Toto I did see live, but never with Joseph Williams instead I got Jean Michael Byron which was an ill fit, though they still had Jeff Porcaro with them then. He died not long after that concert.

Duran Duran I saw live in New Zealand when they were opening for Robbie Williams (which was for us – Emily and me-  the cue to leave) Never saw any of the others I mentioned and though Survivor will be touring again with Dave Bickler – in the last few years they had both leads working together) it won’t ever be Jimi I will see live and somehow  knowing that as well as loosing a teenage crush well….. it  just pulls my heart strings a little.

jj1 jj2 jj3

 

 

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Made me think, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just a little (teenage) crush

  1. draliman says:

    Eye of the Tiger was a great song!
    Most of my schoolboy “crushes” are now in their dotage 😦

    • Gilraen says:

      It is always worth reminding that high school crushes tend to be 10-15 years ahead of the ones that have the crush. Also get older earlier.

      You don’t want to know how often I have played the eye over the last few days Just as well that my coworker is away this week so I have the office just to myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

