Pink Bread

A;ways on the look out for new recipes I found an interesting one recently. Beetroot and Caraway bread.

Now granted it does sound a little like: what?  But it is amazing. It is filling, it is fun it smells heavenly (caraway does) and looks ………… well pink.

Now I would not be me if I did not change the recipe ever so slightly. Firstly I did not have caraway seeds. Went to the store bought cummin seeds instead (well also starts with a c doesn’t it? – and they are related after all, both are Apiaceae) and nearly lost my cool right the and then. Thankfully we did have ground caraway in the cupboard so I used that and I forgot the sunflower seeds completely.

The resulting bread was lovely; moist and warm. With cheese it is remarkable. At work I got some interesting looks with the pink bread but all in all it was fine.

A week alter we had some beetroot left over and I made another one. Again with the ground caraway, this time with the sunflower seeds and I also changed it from just white flour to 60/40 white flour/whole grain flour. Honestly I preferred that. I have always like whole grain flour.

Using vegetables to replace part of the flour and or the water is a really cool way to make your bread more interesting. The most fluffy bread I have ever made was the potato bread that I found in my Anne-Marie Boermans book that I bought last year. Honestly that was the best. Since then I have found some more recipes that are in fact great and work well with left over vegetables and in that manner totally appealing to my reduce waste itch. After all I did study at a very green university, recycling, upcycling, reducing waste and thinking green were sort of compulsory there and part ofday to day life, despite me at the time trying desperately not to be too green :-).  That is the pastrthough and now I think it is an interesting challenge to make things with left overs that are at least as good as the original recipe. Not scoring 100% there but it is a fun think to do

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Food, Home life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

