my poor stomach

For a long long time SO and I have been considering taking his brother and SIL out for dinnerThey are parents to my niecesa nd very involved with them. As a result and evening out just for them is pretty unusual and one to a luxury dinner unheard of. Children always need something. So when we decided to have a 4 people dinner with them for our birthdays we selected a restaurant we knew would amaze them. It nearly went wrong as BIL came down with a bad case of low back painand had even fainted when getting out of bed. Pain medication made that he could make it. I guess the idea of going out with his wife and having a nice dinner helped a little.

We opted for FG formerly known as Ivy. We’d been there on our 4th wedding anniversary and despite us loving it then we had not been back yet. We all opted for the 11 course tasting menu and SO and our guests for the half wine arrangement. I was treated on some nice juice combinations. Remarkably we all preferred a different course. My favourite was a sweetbread and  basil/garlic foam dish. The way they presented the 11 course tasting menu was great with a little sealed envelope. It made that you were guided toward that choice.  Smart move. We again loved this place and yes we will go there again.

We had a very pleasant evening with good company and it was good catching up with them without the general interferences of nieces needing attention or the presence of a large group of people. Mind you it was not as if the nieces did not feature in conversation. I must admit that I got to a point of thinking; “can we talk about something else please?”. I guess it shows  how much their lives revolve our those girls and ours don’t 🙂

We’ d arrived at 19.00 and did not leave the place until well after midnight. Just as well that this weekend day-light savings finished so we had an extra hour in the night. I’s been very tired and had had a nap during the day. Just as well as I was designated driver, otherwise I would not have made it.  Once home we commented how clear it was that our guests had enjoyed the night our we gave them and the messages this morning confirmed it. And really that was what we hoped to achieve. As for us, we loved the time together, but we also commented that because of the additional company we indulged less in the savouring or commenting of the unusual foods and instead focused more on the company. Ir meant that the experience was different from what we usually have.

Once home we climbed into bed with far too full stomachs. Honestly we rolled ourselves like barrels from the car into the house. We both dreamed heavily and halfway through the night I had to raise the head part of my side of the bed as it felt as if part of the dinner wanted to come up again. I woke up still feeling very very full from the night before and rolled out of bed. It was only after a few hours that I ate something (one slice of bread) as my brain said you must eat. My stomach was not in agreement with my head and as a result I only ate a little and late this morning.

Not sure about what today will bring. Still feeling very full and I think that we’ll be mostly float over the internet in recovery mode. Just as well that we do not do this too often, but what a party and food discovery it is every time we do.

Lovely presentation of the menu we had

Lovely presentation of the menu we had

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Food, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my poor stomach

  1. draliman says:

    Sounds lovely, but if there’s one thing I hate it’s waking up the next day still full from the night before. My ageing stomach no longer likes me when that happens!
    Daylight savings time finished here as well this morning but it didn’t help me – I got up at my usual “time”, it just happened to be an hour “earlier” 🙂

Leave a Reply

