Sniffles creeping back in.

Autumn is still not fully upon us. Sure some trees are bare, but a lot of them still carry greenish leaves. Temperatures are pretty nice and during the weekend wonderful We have blue cloudless skies and little wind. So yes the days are short but very fine still.

Today was the warmest November temperature ever recorded and to be honest it is getting illogical. When temperatures are like this one should not have these early nights. That said the extra rays of sunshine are very nice to get on your face even now and it beats having to lean into a rain and storm cloud, but the latter fits better with expectations. Still last Wednesday I changed my wardrobe over to Winter lay out (trying to signal the universe with my thoughts) and cleared out a lot of old clothes.

It may not be fully autumn, let alone Winter but what is happening though and fitted neatly in with expectation is the cold. It slowly is creeping up on me. For weeks now the sniffs are mildly increasing and the cotton ball head is making a slow but steady entrance. Nothing too strong but there is the sniffle creep. The creeping sniffle is helped by the weather pattern. Because the temperatures between day and night vary a lot and in the middle of the day it sort of feels to nice my clothing pattern may not always have been right. I have my wrap of course which is brilliant in the evenings, but last Thursday I spend a fair bit of an evening standing outside chatting with my SIL while feeling slightly under dressed for the temperatures

The sniffles are now at the point where I am sleeping with my head end of the bed slightly raised. That way my airways stay unblocked (for now) and I can get some sleep. Not the best sleep ever, but it is sleep, where with a blocked nose it would be tossing and turning and a much worse level of sleep. However on Friday I could not face a trip up north (3.5 hours there and then the same back) by train for a network related event. The thought was enough for me to break down in a sneezing contest with myself. So I called and declined the invitation.

Lucky for me SO was arriving early that night too. His meeting was cut shorter and as a result he managed to get an earlier flight. By 18.00 both of us were home where we’d expected a 21.30 arrival that night. A simple meal and cuddling up on the couch in front to the TV therefore was a huge unexpected bonus.

The Saturday was for the hairdresser (badly needed) and tomorrow? We’ll see 🙂

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sniffles creeping back in.

  1. draliman says:

    Sorry to hear about the sniffles. October here hit record-breaking (not where I live though!) but the weather is on the turn now.

    • Gilraen says:

      It is expected to turn after the weekend. I am not keeping my hopes up though, they’ve been predicting the after the weekend thing for weeks now. End result one bad day only 🙂

Leave a Reply

