Good intentions

Good intentions are by definition good. Good intentions are usually also related to not-so-good-habits and/or things that are not the usual thing to do

My cold has disappeared I managed to get through it without too many problems in the end. Some good nights sleep were my saving grace I guess. So I woke up this morning with my nose clogged again, while I had recovered from my cold, it made me consider something else.

I know I have an allergy and I know how it feels when that kicks in. Occasionally when I have a cold part of that cold is not the cold. It does not help that with the turn toward the cold the windows are closed more often. My head starts clogging up and it is mostly behind my eyes that I think Hmm, not a cold this part. Of course to make things clear as mud, it can also be when it turns into a head/frontal sinus cold, which I have had on a number of occasions. It is tricky to distinguish and I admit I’d rather blame a virus for me feeling bad, than admitting to the fact that my body is betraying me. However in the end my body will tell me, rather clearly, to get my head out of the sand (or…. well you get what I am aiming for)

And then I woke up in the middle of the night and I just knew it was not my cold that had returned. All of a sudden I realised that the curtains had not been washed for eons. Curtains that had been in place since we moved in 2009. With a sleepy head I had to admit to ostrich-me that I had intended to wash them at least annually, but in all honesty never got round to. Another good intention that well got lost in the this thing called life.

So when fully awake this morning I decided to do it there and then. No time like the present, so I took them off pushed them into the washing machine and start. I took a short cycle and low spinning. Still getting them out meant crawling into the tumbler to dig out all the hooks they’d lost. About 30% of the hooks got dislodged in the washing machine and dragging them back to the bedroom I heard another two clanks that told me to search the floor some more.

Also I noted that 100% of the seams had some damage so it means getting my needle and thread out to pick them up form the floor again. Still I am glad I did it.  They look better again and in my imagination I can already smell/feel the difference. I intend to do this annually as it always has been my very good intention. But we all know how good intentions work. 🙂

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Made me think, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good intentions

  1. draliman says:

    I’m pretty sure that when I moved into this house I was going to give it a good clean every week (not just when my parents were coming round) 🙂

Leave a Reply

