Knitting out the year

For Christmas we exchanged presents. My MIL surprised both my SIL and myself with a wool purchase for a hat and scarf. The quality of the wool was very good. Very nice stuff indeed.My in-laws had chosen the wool with a specific (self made) coat in mind. The coat is grey/blackwhite woven with purple and pink. Unfortunately though they both did not realise that it is not a wintercoat (which considering the lack of winter at present is more than an understandable error) and did not fully recollect the colours.

The wool chosen was multi colour and well as far from the coat as you can imagine. In fact as SO said, they were all the colours that would never appear in my wardrobe. They were autumn colours and I have a few friends that would love the colour scheme, but it is not mine. As MIL so clearly put so much effort in it and really did try I gave it a shot and decided to make a sleeveless cardigan. The thought was that the sleeves could then be one of my colours and I could pull it to my colour scheme. After all it did have purple in it.

the original wool

the original wool

As I progressed I really got depressed, the purple was only very very little and the colourscheme was so out of my comfort zone that my heart was sinking with ever row I knitted. Looking at it I knew I was just not going to wear it ever. So what now?

Well my lovely store people exchanged all wool (except the used yarn of course) for a black to grey mix which is so much more me. I have never been a fan of colour mixes and prefer plain colours but this suits me.

The pattern (Ragazza model 38) was easy enough. No sleeves and thick wool make for fast knitting and this is what it became.

I did not put in the button holes as I have a wonderful old brooche inherited from my grandmother that I use as a closure – you can see it on the last picture. Quite happy with the result I must admit.

I wore it to the New years dinkies we traditionally have with the in-laws. Both MIL and SIL were impressed with the speed that I had knitted it. The left over wool? I am going to donate it to my knitcrazy co-worker. Her colourtype? Autumn

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Family, Feelings, Home life, Knitting, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

