More sewing to show off

A long time ago I made a dirndle top using some very nice and expensive boiled wool which I fell totally in love with. There is a relatively large piece left over, but not enough to make something else with, but I kept it anyway

Did it look like the photo/drawing  once done ?

Nope but then again that was not my intention

Changes to the pattern?

It is a a simple sweater pattern that is made interesting by lowered shoulderlines at the front and a front panel. I left off the top collar and the edge, and did add a arm collar. The pattern was chosen because of the middle part.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Never used them the pattern was so darn easy. It is from Knip mode Forgotten the number as I borrowed it from M.

Like??

Love it, easy and perfect for me, what is there not to like. It is a nice simple elegant sweater for those autumn in between days, Not cold enough for warm sweaters yet, but too cold for thin stuff

Fabric Used:

The main part is a purple knit given to me by my sewing buddy M. She’d had it for years and had decided it was not her colour. I felt the colour was a little too dark for me, but in combination it had potential. By using the perfect boiled wool in a panel I think I made it work for me in an elegant and creative way.

Would you sew it again?

Yes or something in that style. It is very easy to adjust and very easy to make.

Conclusion: Happy that I used a large piece of expensive scrap material in such a cool way

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Review, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More sewing to show off

  1. Pingback: Left over fabrics | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

