Amazing people

I love to walk to work, no secret there. It is about 4,5km to work so it is very doable. Last Monday we had what is called a moor day- basically it is a strategic day away from the office with all people. Just to re-focus and ensure we are all on the same page. Or at least try to get to that point.

Anyway, this time it was at a place we’d been to before and which is about 6,5 km from home. As SO was away on business there was no need to buy stuff for dinner, so no (sel imposed) time limit for me. I decided to go for a walk that day too and have a longer walk. I was so looking forward to having a longer walk again!

It was a foggy day and to be honest as it is primarily one long road pretty darn boring too. You walk on the side of a main road. On the city side there are some nice houses. One older one called “buitenrust” roughly translated as rest outside of the city. Well they were once right. These days not really. Then you walk past the very nice university buildings where you are nearly killed by students on bikes. From thereon it becomes industrial with some small residential blobs in between and really not nice, That is the main part of the walk. As mentioned there was a lot of fog and it was also freezing so the lade up to our meeting building was slippery, but it was not far for me.

About 2/3 of the way a car stopped beside me. One of my colleagues offering a ride. He was most surprised when I declined and said I preferred to walk. As I turned up the lane another colleague stopped to offer me a ride for the last 500m which I also declined. Mind you in that case my new colleague did not realise that we were nearly there. By the time she’d parked and had gotten out of the car, I was there as well.

The whole day the fog remained in place and so we saw nothing much of the nice surrounds. But it also added to the mystique I guess. It was a good day, but also quite intense. I was tired when we finished.

On the way back. Well one colleague offering me a ride as we walked out and then another stopped as they saw me walking on the lane to the main road. All of them and I mean all of them were so surprised when I turned them down and told them I preferred to walk. It really cleared my head from the intense day.

The next day it was mentioned a few times again as I explained that I loved to walk. There was a lot of not understanding on that one. Some at work now really think I am strange. As for me; All in all it was a 13km walk and I loved it. It was cold, but crisp cold and I slept well on it.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Interesting, Walking, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazing people

  1. draliman says:

    It was nice of them to stop and offer, anyway.

Leave a Reply

