Dressing for Easter

When it comes to holidays it is always nice to wear something new. After my exams this week I decided that on Friday I wanted to pour out all the stress through sewing, as it is the best stress reliever.

This Easter Sunday I wore it to the family brunch as SIL and BIL. I am very happy with the results and here are the stats about it.

Did it look like the photo/drawing  once done ?

Yes it did, though with my fabric there will be a difference always. The pattern is 50’s inspired and very fitted, something that is always a little scary.

Changes to the pattern?

Pattern was from Burdastyle, november 2012. The link also shows the original 50’s inspiration dress.

Swayback adjustment 2.5 cm in the centre and waist raised by 0.5 cm in the rest of the dress.  It worked well. Other than that, none.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes and no. The pattern is not that difficult but Burda insisted on a difficult way of doing the front part. Talking it through with my sewing teacher we opted for a simpler way, which worked just as well as it was a fabric with some stretch.

Like??

Oh yes! It is wonderful, elegant. Though it is a fifties inspired dress, yet it is also very contemporary and modern. It is light, it fun and I think it suits me very well

Fabric Used:

A grey stretch with a velvet (non stretch) overlay glued to it. I bought the fabric eons ago and as soon as I saw this pattern I knew they were a match, time and other priorities made that it took until now before sewing up this planned project.

Would you sew it again?

Yes or something in this style. As I said it suits me. And with this fabric, well it travels well which is great for work

Conclusion: Very nice, very fun and also very suitable for certain work commitments

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Feelings, Home life, Review, Sewing, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dressing for Easter

  1. draliman says:

    I love the colours on that dress!

  2. That dress is so ravishing, and you look like the blonde bombshell you are! Fabulous!

  3. Miekje says:

    I love it! And you look great. It makes me want a new dress. Luckily I am wearing new bright orange jeans today.

  4. Pingback: Left over fabrics | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

