Couch surfing.

The thing with ordering new furniture is that it takes forever to arrive. In our couch case about 10 weeks. As you can imagine we were very much looking forward to it.

On Tuesday I had a meeting out of town, and under normal circumstances my phone is off then. However our secretariat had put the start time at 10.00 in our diaries and on the agenda it said 9.30. I’d looked in the diary and was most surprised to see I was last in, usually I am first! So I had to get going quickly and could not do my normal routine.

During a short coffee break (thankfully) my phone starts to ring. I did not recognize the phone number but answered anyway as it was the break time and I was hardy the only one on the phone. Was the couch people, our couch had arrived. I responded; “Cool, I am working from home tomorrow so why don’t you just drop it off tomorrow?” A wave of “Oh that is quick” came down the phoneline. But with a little back and forthing in the background et voila delivery at 14.00.

On the Wednesday I all of a sudden remembered our new parking rules in the street. It means that I had to register the visiting car on our personal account. As this is brand spanking new I’d never done it before and worst I could not remember for the life of me what our codes were. Slight panic as our parking wardens seem to have a special nose for those parked where they should not and the fines are a little on the steep side. Quickly I jumped on line and I found an emergency phone number for cases like this, but SO to the rescue, called after my SMS and told me where he’d cleverly hidden it. All systemsgo to receive our couch!

Around midday we would also get a mechanic in to install a new water meter, however he ended up not arriving until 13.30 which sort of make my schedule go out fo the window. Thankfully that change over only took about 10 minutes and the couch people arrived at 14.15 and out came the two parts. My neighbour saw the colour through the plastic packaging and was most impressed. Now all they needed to do was to take it upstairs, which they said would not be a problem.

They were right it wasn’t a problem as long as they did it in the logical order, which meant taking it down again when it got stuck and turning the piece around. As we’d only seen the couch in grey and had picked the colour on samples It is better than anticipated. And guess what? Lounging around on it is soooooooooooooo much more comfortable.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, shopping, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

