Fabric

Not that long ago I passed an exam as you remember. I was so happy that I allowed myself to indulge a little. See there is this site called spoonflower and it allows you to print your own (or other) designs. It has a massive database and it is not cheap. Not to mention as it is in the USA I have to pay duty when it arrives. Still I’d been drooling over some of the designs in their database and now I allowed myself to buy some stuff.

This is it: fabric my heroes

Those that know me well know that one of my all time science heroes is Marie Curie. She is one of the most inspirational women to many women in beta science. Jane Goodall, well what she has done for environmental issues, behavioural science etc can never be underestimated. Rachel Carson – environmentalist and writer. Not one of my heroes but she sits well within the design.  Hypatia mathematician, astronomer and philosopher. Amazing woman and amazing story. The the first woman to receive a university Doctorate Elena Cornaro Piscopia.Due to women like her it was possible for women like me to study  Last but certainly not least; Lady of light Henrietta Swan Leavitt and astronomer. Her work was instrumental for that of Hubble (and Hubble’s law). I would have loved fabric with Ada Lovelace and Rosalind Franklin. However the design with these ladies fabric was not as nice as this one and really it also needs to be pretty to wear. Plus the course was very much Marie Curie related so she got ahead in the need to have on fabric line 🙂

The fabric will most likely be a dress (that is what it wants to be) and that way my heroes will be for all to see. Oh and since I bought thsi fabric I ahve foudn similars sites in the UK, Germany and France – which is easier with duty as they are in Europe. I think I like this 🙂

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Art, Decisions, fashion, Feelings, Home life, Learning, Made me think, Sewing, shopping, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fabric

  1. Miekje says:

    Here in Oxford the big female science hero is Dorothy Hodgkin, who did the X-ray crystallography and determined the structure of penicillin. They screened a film of a play about her life at one of the symposia recently; great stuff! Unlike Rosalind Franklin she did get her work recognized with a Nobel prize.

    • Gilraen says:

      Well it did help that Dorothy Hodgkin lived a lot longer than Rosalind Franklin. Rosalind Franklin died (1958) of cancer within 5 years of the first publication on DNA (1953) Well before the Nobel prize for DNA discovery was given (1963) and it is not awarded postumously

Leave a Reply

