Stand off

Sometimes you wonder why a simple notification cannot be made to the people that actually pay the bills.The issue is that Burdaystyle the Netherlands is in dire straights and happily alienating its subscribers. Seriously it is rather silly all in all.

It started off two months ago. My Burdastyle was late, very late. (note this was the second time in  6 months) A search on line showed me that I was not the only one scratching my head about it. Nearly everybody was wondering. SOme people had written to the distributer and had had an answer that the company was in dire straights and that the magazine – which had sold out in stores – would be sent within two weeks. Which turned out to be two weeks to the day.

Next thing I know is that there is this mysterious payment on my bank account. It is a significant amount. It says it is an automatic payment (incasso), recurring with this one being the first. The identifying details are a string of numbers with an odd letter in it. Totally non traceable to what on earth it is. The company in question does not have any other internet presence than a phonebook entry. My bank could not help me in further identification of who was behind the company, so I reversed the payment, wondering if this would be the new distributer.

Next issue of Burdastyle was overdue by two weeks when I cracked and bought it in store. A week later it was delivered. I am giving my spare one to my sewing  buddy 🙂 I then by trawling the internet and trying to find out more about what on earth is happening with Burdaystyle find that the subscription listings are open again And lo and behold the name of the subscription service is that of the mystery company on the payment I had reversed.

By this stage I am incensed. I still had not had any official word from them, only this payment that looked suspicious and two late Burdaystyles. So I wrote them an email which told them that I felt that they were treating their subscribers rather poorly and unfair. I also told them that a note would have been nice – How hard could it have been to send that to people with the latest instalment of the Burdaystyle and apologise for the rather terrible service. In line with the above I did not receive anything back. Really nothing is coming out of the three companies involved.

Now I know full well that this is not the German mother company. The Dutch translation is quite separate from Burdaystyle.de. However it is their name on the cover and I am rather incensed by the treatment. So much so that I am considering letting my subscription lapse (SO thinks I should not). So what is Burdastyle going to do to make this right again?

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stand off

  1. Robin says:

    It is sad, and frustrating, the way companies no longer seem to care about their customers. Common courtesies are disappearing. Hope you get it all straightened out soon.

    • Gilraen says:

      So do I. The most frustrating thing is not knowing, and having the hunt for information on line. Wheras if I knoew I would have been much more patient and understanding. Now they are very much in the bad books.
      And yes there is nothing common about common courtesies 🙂

Leave a Reply

