Nothing to show for it

Today is our national liberation day aka I am sewing day. Weather was going to be rather atrocious (and it turned out they were right) so sewing seemed to be the best option.

I had found a new sewing magazine called La Maison Victor. It is Belgian and the instructions are wonderful and patterns a lot easier to trace than the Burdastyle. Possibly a viable option if the current stand off with the Dutch Burdastyle leads to me dropping it or being dropped. More about that in another post though

Pattern?

La Maison Victor 03/2015 Dress Ocean A simple but fun little summer dress

Did it look like the photo/drawing  once done ?

Yes it did.

Changes to the pattern?

Swayback adjustment and lengthening of the skirt as mini skirts have never been best friends

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Oh yes, the instructions are wonderful! Not that I needed them, as the pattern was easy, but with the additional drawings and very good instructions anybody could have made this one

Fabric Used:

A panne velvet with a damask imprint. Creamy white and with a lovely feel Fluffy to cut though. I had bought it eons ago in Denmark. It had been bought and used as table furnishings but it did not work for us. So instead of throwing perfectly good fabric away I decided to make this dress from this. In a way very Sound of Music, except….

Like??

Nope, hate is too much but it just was not working. SO described it as a bridesmaid dress, which would have suited a bride that pushed her taste onto unsuspecting bridesmaids. Even with the skirt lengthened by 4 cm it was too short, the style made me gain 10 Kg on the spot and the colour was only ever going to work when I have a massive tan, which is hardly ever. And yes it is so bad that I do not have pictures nor intend to get them.

So all in all it was a nice try, but it is going to goodwill. I hope there will be somebody there that likes it and looks good in it. I had fun with it

Would you sew it again?

Well no, as said even the style did not suit me. But that is some of the fun of sewing, Sometimes it does work with something unexpected and sometimes it doesn’t This one does not.

Conclusion: The magazine is very nice and I am going to sew more out of it. I may even get a subscription. I am so totally impressed with their instructions, if only for that they totally deserve all the support that can be found

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Learning, Sewing, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

