Back home

Finally Saturday afternoon was the time we were finished and started our trip home. Again we took the taxi to the airport. And just like the way in we were surprised about two things; Firstly the motorways seems to run through greens spaces. For the best part you do not notice that you are driving through or near a very large city. We also noted that the general upkeep of the roads was not very good with a lot of branches (probably from the said greens paces) was on the road potentially leading to some dangerous situations.

At the airport at every turn we saw some of our international co-workers. We all took different flights out of Philadelphia, but at very similar times. It should be noted that going through security was a less intense and intrusive going back, as if they care when you come in, but going out oh well. Felt very strange really, though again we had to be there three hours in advance.

This led to another long wait, but I must admit with a very nice apple bran muffin that we bought there. and then the flight back. This time I was not so lucky,in what was again a filled to the gills old 757. I was seated in the least loved middle seat of three and I had no chance of being re-seated. On the left I had a fellow passenger from the USA. This man unfortunately did meet the prejudice about the size of the average US citizen and would only just have cleared the one seat pricing. I insisted on having the armrest down. thankfully on the other side the passenger was a lot smaller so it was doable.

With dinner and breakfast in flight, only 5 hours remained for sleep. And well we all know it is not the best type of sleep one has then. We landed ahead of time, but on Schiphol’s Polderbaan, which means you land pretty much in Ijmuiden and taxi to the terminal, which takes about 30-40 minutes. There SO picked me up and took wrung out me home. I did have a nap in the morning still and a peaceful Sunday afternoon.

As the trip had used up most of two weekends I had taken the Monday and Tuesday off to recover from the jet lag. I needed that, the jet lag was really quite bad.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Made me think, Stuff, Travel, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back home

  1. Miekje says:

    I had a different experience in 2006: when leaving the US after a conference, I was subjected to a full search of my checked-in luggage (they called around on the intercom for me to come and give them the lock code), my carry-on luggage and my person: shoes off and clothing down to the final layer, then a frisk. I was so intimidated I cried! And when I was telling my colleague about it on the plane, another (Yank) passenger remarked: but don’t you feel safer now? I could have clobbered him if I hadn’t been so afraid to be sent to Guantanamo Bay! I can laugh about it now, and I have been back to the US since (via Canada that time), but it was not pleasant at all.

    • Gilraen says:

      I can imagine the trauma! I am with you about clobbering the idiot shouting “No I have just been humiliated to the core and feel completely physically violated by officals of course I do not feel safer now” . Unfortunately you are not the only one with sorties like that to tell.

Leave a Reply

