How to get over a bad jetlag?

My jet lag was bad. Not mincing my words about it, it was the worst one so far.I think it was bad not just because of the time difference, but also because of the very short night when I was already exhausted.

During my trip I had manged to keep excercise up in a different manner. It involved getting up very early and being in the Hotel’s health centre just or at 06.00. The first few days I used the gym, but the gym does not like me. Chances are because of not being used to those machines – specifically the elliptical trainer – I got myself a little injury after the second training. It felt as if my calf muscles were being cut horizontally with a knife. It was a feeling that would only last for a few steps, but was painful. So I decided to switch to the pool. I’d swim lanes and jog for about 40-50 minutes every morning.At 07.30 I’d meet the others for breakfast and at 09.00 it was meeting until 17.00 or even 19.00 on occasion. Then dinner, socializing and bed.

So I was very tired when I got on the plane and then a short short night of bad sleep is not helpful. On the Monday I decided to go for a long walk again. I’d done it a few times before in 2013 northbound and in 2014 southbound This year I decided to go southbound again. I preferred it that way. So thought I was totally courageous to do that while I was still tired,, but I just felt the need to move. It was a good walk and a little faster than last year, but not much and when I sat down in the bath I felt the tiredness wash over me again. Still walking in the sunshine and being busy allowed me to get into the normal rhythm again and as such to function.

Tuesday and Wednesday were dedicated to lazing about and sewing. On Tuesday I had my yoga and on Wednesday I went to the aerobics class. So I did take the fitness part of getting over the jet lag very seriously.

It literally took all week and the weekend to get over it. I made sure I kept my excercise up but it was the sleep in on the weekend that clinched it for me. No it was not a nice jet lag at all.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Sports, Stuff, Travel, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to get over a bad jetlag?

  1. Pingback: Last but not least | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

