Another trip but a lot closer

Another business trip barely a week after returning from the previous one.This time I flew to Sweden. Boras to be exact. Up to this meeting I’d never heard of it but I do admit to have been pleasantly surprised. I can’t help but to compare the two trips a little. Most striking really; in the USA so much cash to be used in Sweden I was able to pay everything using my bankcard! In the USA it seemed as if silence and tranquility was not allowed. Everywhere where we came there was noise and moving images. TVs are on everywhere. In Sweden it is the other way around, the silence and tranquility is even in the town touchable to the point that you’d wish for something, for instance when waiting at the airport.

I flew into Landvetter airport and from there it was to Boras by luxury long-distance line bus and a short walk through that charming city. Every morning we’d go to the meeting place by bus. Here too we had a tour through town, but this one was a guided walk with a focus on the sculptures and art of which Boras has many. Unfortunately the weather gods were not happy and it was pouring. I shared and umbrella with one of the organisers, but the wind made that the rain could not be fully avoided. So by the time we arrived at the dinner I was cold and somewhat damp.

At the dinner I was talking to some people that had also been present at the Philadelphia meeting and it was good to hear that we all had had major jet lag issues. It wasn’t just me.

The way back home too was by luxury bus to the airport and then home. Again we flew into the Polderbaan, but this time that was good as SO was a little later and thus arrived almost at the same time I did.  For now my trips are over I think but given the situation at work things may change on that one too. We’ll see.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Interesting, Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

