Merry christmas

Time flies really. 2015 nearly gone bar christmas of course. This year christmas is reasonably painless for us. Now christmas eve we are fluffing about and preparing for boxing day dinner.

Tomorrow morning we head out for christmas day dinner at my parents. We’ve got presents for the family and a new dress for me. We stay the night and on boxing day head out home

We are due to make the main course for the celebrations at my BIL/SIL place. We’ve opted to make two classic hot crust pastry pies One pork and egg and one game. Both have been prepared today and only will need to be heated. SO made (not for christmas, but because he wanted to) a pate. We spend most of the day in the kitchen but that was so utterly relaxed.

I also finished a summer blouse and we really just had one of the most relaxing starts of the christmas seasons in ages. Only a cold with a nasty cough was trying to make it harder. But with weather resembling spring more than winter it never took the hold it could have.

As relaxed as we are now though, I wasn’t in the prep phase. We ate porkpie more than once on practicing the hot crust pastry. I even made some mini porkpies. They were really cute and very nice. However I am always a little strssy when it comes to time limits and I loath being in stores when it is christmas rush. However it seems that because christmas is late in the week people were more organised than usual and it has not been bad at all. Plus SO volunteered today to do the last bit of shopping. I got rid of the stress behind my sewing machine getting rid of some left over fabric again.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Food, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

