Dry weather

SO headed to a museum with his father. It is almost an annual tradition now and well he promised a while back when MIL was so ill. Just so that FIL had something nice to look forward to.Life got in the way a bit but just before the end of it they went out together. That meant a day for me. I decided with the nice almost spring like weather over the last few weeks to use the time to go for a nice cycling adventure. I only had a few hours as I was meeting a friend for lunch. I decided to go for a run that I know well and is about 2 hours wind permitting. It has an added bonus that it is a sort of Trombone route. It can easily be cut short or extended depending on what you feel like.

I checked the weather forecast and the people at weatherplaza (www.weerplaza.nl) told me it was going to stray dry.

I go onto my bike and near the bridge about 500m from home I felt a smidgen splutter of rain – but decided to keep going Was never going to be much after all the people at the weatherplaza had told me it was going to stay dry.

As I cycled on the smidgen of splutter became a real splutter, but nothing too much and it would not be that much surely. I mean the people at weatherplaza had told me that it was going to stay dry, surely it could not get worse?

Near the restaurant which is one of our waypoints the splutter had changed to rain. How was this possible the people at weatherplaza had told me it was going to stray dry!

As the wind was a bit stronger than anticipated and I had a deadline I decided that I was going to make a turn at about 12km I turned on the way back and well the rain became quite significant. How was this possible? This was a far cry from the going to stay dry morning I was promised by the people at weatherplaza?!

At the turn toward the city the rain changed to a right old downpour and I from very wet I went to soaking wet in no time. People at weatherplaza; what happened to it is going to stay dry?

Once I entered the city I felt the rain easy slowly over the last few kilometers. I turned into our street at 25.5 km and put my bike away. As soon as I left the shed it was dry, just as the people at weatherplaza had predicted.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Home life, Sports, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

