New dress for christmas and wedding anniversary

This is a pattern that I wanted to make since I saw it in the Burdaystyle. I bought the fabric on the fabric market as the perfect match. All through the construction I was not sure it if would be a tunic or a dress. I mean A was a dress and B was a tunic but the patterns were equally long.

So I decided to make it as long as it was as shortening is always easier than lengthening it. The collar was a nightmare initially as I had trouble ‘seeing’ how it was going to work. I still have no dress model so with was a little nightmare. But as nightmares go, sleep resolves often the biggest issues no change there.

Once I understood the construction it was relatively easy. I relatively as the front panel is cur including the whole double layered collar shawl. This means that you are working with a 3m plus length of fabric until it is totally in place. That is not easy to manage I have found

Due to the timing of finishing I decided to wear this dress on christmas day. It was a great succes. My dad said later: as if it was cut to your body. Well hmm yes it was too 🙂 SO loved it so much that I decided to also wear it to our wedding 7th anniversary (to be blogged). The stats are:

Pattern Description: Longshirt – waterfall collar Burdastyle 120A-09/2015

Pattern Sizing: Mostly 38. A little wider in the hips

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Oh yes it did

Were the instructions easy to follow? Most of them were, expcet in what order to make the collar. It was such a long piece of fabric I got a little lost for a minute. A good nights sleep and all of a sudden I understood the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
That collar shawl, I just fell in love with it as soon as I got this issue home.

Fabric Used: royal blue tricot with black faux velvet flowers. I bought it at the local fabric market specifically for this dress

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
other than adjusting the skirt to suit my hips and a slight back alteration nothing really

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes to both The collar shawl is high impact and wonderfully lush (and warm too) Now that I know how to make it it is easy enough. I would make a second version shorter though to be a tunic instead of a a dress

Conclusion:I love this dress. It really shows off my best features and the colour is just the way I like it.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Decisions, Home life, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New dress for christmas and wedding anniversary

  1. Pingback: Groningen – a weekend to remember | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

