More fun tops

During autumn I notied that I had a lot of short sleeved tops. A good number of seaters, but not much of those in between tops. So I had work to do. Helped by an overflowing fabric cupboard I got to work and decided on tow fun and bright tops. They worked so well and I am very very proud of the end result

Pattern Description:Long sleeved tops that make me happy

A: Burdastyle 10/2014 103 Long sleeved with a small waterfall collar and interesting neckseams

B: Burdasyle 11/2015 104A with a shawl collar and v neck

Pattern Sizing: 38 for the most of it (36 shoulders, tapering to 42 on hips)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes to both, though the fabrics are so different to the one on Burdastyle that unless you know it is not that easy to see. I think my choices are more fun

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes they were, but the patterns are easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I just love slightly different necklines as it pulls attention toward my face. Both of these have that. Specifically B was a case of opening the issue and saying I want that one

Fabric Used: Both are made of tricot

A it a thin gray and blue striped pattern. The different blues in the fabric make me think of the ocean without being too obvious.

B A very happy cheerful apple blossom pattern. Just looking at that fabric just makes you feel as if spring is there. When I was finished I noticed that the pinks circle from the right hand bottom to the left hand top. Unintentional but a nice bonus!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

On B it asks for a complete match in the neckline. I overlapped a little there as I think it looked a little neater. Other than that no changes

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes to both. They are happy staple patterns that also would work well in solid colours

Conclusion:Love these tops

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Feelings, Home life, Sewing, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

