Left over fabrics

Sewing is a a great hobby. The one thing that does happen is that when you go shopping for fabrics it is hard to know how much needed. This is as most of the times I go to the fabric markets (posts like this and this one for instance) and therefore I tend to buy safe. Often the fabric tells me what it wants to be and I kinda have learned how much I will need. However not all guesses are good and then there is some left over. Often not enough to make another garment, but also too much to keep. This fabric has a habit of building up in my fabric wardrobe until I get to a point where I start to think on how to get rid of it.

Well in these two cases by adding two left over fabrics together.

Pattern Description:A number of patterns used here to get rid of fabrics. Most of these fabrics I have used before and I had too much left over to throw away, but not enough to make big new items out of it.

So I made two tops and a skirt

The tops are a long sleeved double layer (A) Burdastyle 01/2016 103A and a long sleeved two in one look (B) Burdastyle 11/2104 113B

The skirt a lined pencil skirt (C) Burdastyle 08/2015 108 B

Pattern Sizing: The usual; shirts 36-38 and the skirt now a 40-42

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes but in the case of B it is hard to see from the Burdastyle picture In the case of A even quite a bit as the fabrics are similar

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes they were and I did not really use them at all, In the case of the pencil skirt there was no lining so I added that from memory and with some help from my sewing teacher

What did you particularly like or dislike about the patterns? I needed some shirts for when it is not that warm yet, but too warm for sweatshirts. I liked for the shirts the fun factor that was in them. plus the multilayered look. The pencil skirts I just like and I wanted a good base pattern and I have that now

Fabric Used:

  • A; inner layer, left over fabric from a sweater, outer layer left over fabric from my easter dress.
  • B; Left over fabric from my jumpsuit (to be reviewed later) and some bits left over from my yoga pants
  • C; outer left over fabric from a coat and inner, left over lining from another jacket.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

  • A none
  • B: I lowered the neckline a little as I feel the Burdastyle necklines are too high
  • C: added a lining and other than that none!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

C was made specifically as a base pattern so yes. A&B are fun and I would make them again if I had some left over fabric.

Conclusion:

Very happy with the results

A

B

 

And C

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Feelings, Home life, Sewing, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

