Skirting the issue

So after a skirt from left over fabric and a dress it was time for tow other skirts. OK let’s be honest. These were made months apart, but still it is posted as one. Somehow I have starte to like making and wearing skirts. I never used to wear them Now I wear them at least once a week to work.  People do go funny as they age.

The first brown skirt was made from Scottish Harris Tweed. Now that is fabric to die for. It is magical to work with and just feels so nice to wear. The tweed was bought on Skye when I also bought yarn from Shilasdair. The yarn was used to knit a successful sweater which I wear a lot. So together they are called my Scottish outfit.

The winterskirt was made from a cheap coupon and it wanted to be a skirt. It took ages to find the right pattern and the fabric and I talked it over and we decided that we had a deal.

Pattern Description:Two skirts. One pencil skirt Burdastyle 08/2011 127 (A) and one a wider winterskirt Burdastyle 01/2015 109A (B)

Pattern Sizing: A: in the waist 38 and furtherdown 44 Skirt B 38 to 40

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

A: Absolutely just more rustic due to the chosen fabric

B: Yes, but because of the changes I made I think mine looks better

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes, very easy and straightforward

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

A: It was perfect for my Scottish Harris Tweed. Totally in style and flattering.

B: young, fun and I loved the volants just had no idea if it would suit me.

Fabric Used:

A: Brown with blue specs Harris Tweed, bought at the Shilasdair store on Skye during our 2011 holiday there. It was bought at the same time as the wool for my Scottish sweater. I now regularly wear them together

B: A grey wool coupon (2m) from the market bought for a steal (10 euro) The market salesman thought I was weird for wanting to make a skirt out of it

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

A: none, B: I decided in stead of classic seams to do overlay seams. That way the edges stay visible. The fabric was perfect for showing the hard edges and classing seams would have bulked too much. Also instead of a waistband I used a wide elastic my sewing teacher still had and inserted two zippers to keep the symmetry intact. All edges are hard edges.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes to both. A is very classic and lends itself for many differnt fabrcs. B is vibrant and fun and I’d love to have it in a different fabric too. But I doubt I will. Still have my Burdastyle subscription so always more and new patterns to pull me way from those I already made

Conclusion:

Loving the skirts. The Harris tweed skirt gets worn a lot! The grey wool one somehow I am a little more shy about that one. As if it is too young for me. Silly I know but maybe the blog will help me accept it more

A my Scottish skirt

 

 

B my winterskirt

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Feelings, Holiday, Home life, Sewing, Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

