Rose pink

For a long time I have wanted to take my sewing to a next level. The issue always what what is the next level. Enough ideas on what that could be, but it always came back to making a standard pattern more personalised. So in the end that is what I did.

It was also the last project I started while still following classes. Yes I stopped my sewing classes. Things just came to a natural end. I was not learning much and really I was only going for the fun with friends. Then my sewing teacher decided on a one month break to go to India to become a yoga teacher which sort of left us with a month of and time to think. My sewingfriend M was going to stop as she wanted some time to herself her hobbies had outgrown her time table and she felt her other hobbies were more her at present. Last but not least my young neighbour friend had to stop as her school had her doing her intern times and because that involved evening shifts as well she simply could not longer commit. So in the end all three of us decided that it was time to say goodbye

Pattern Description: Cut out Gore skirt Burdaystyle december January 2016 #116

Pattern Sizing: 38 pretty much. I did not change between sizes much as the pattern is quite forgiving.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did, but better

Were the instructions easy to follow? I decided on this pattern as it was so easy. The instructions were not needed

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? In its simplicity it looked stylish and was a template for mote

Fabric Used: A pink heavy cotton. I’d made a dress from it before and one thing was clear the pink is way too pale and sweet for me at least close to my face. The dress I had salvaged with some black lace and only wore it once before giving it away to charity. I repeated the black trick by using black trimming on ever seam. I also used some black lace with large roses as applique

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The main things are the trims in every seam, though technically that would not be a change on pattern. I made the applique from the large scale rose lace. I cut out the leaves and roses. Made one of the seams a rose bush and had another stem coming from it. I then hand sewed all the applique onto the skirt. One hell of a job and I am not sure I’ll ever repeat it. During the handsewing I watched the remainder of the Ms Fisher Mysteries on Netflix I mentioned in my sweater blog.

Would you sew it again? Not this way no, The pattern is easy and versitile enough so that it could be used for another template, however I have other things to sew now

Would you recommend it to others? Yes it is a pretty easy basic pattern. The applique I’d only recommend if it is really your thing

Conclusion:I think I have a pretty wonderful one off skirt here. By combining it with a black top I can actually wear the pale rose pink and that is a bonus. Oh and in normal circumstances I’d wear the top over the top of the skirt, but in order to fully show the skirt I decided to tuck it in.

Oh and yes I know about the creases 🙂 Need to iron it.

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Home life, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

