Just too late for winter

My knitting has had an hap hazard start since I took it up again. I had to learn that I have a loose knit and that it is paramount to check the gauge. Not doing that has resulted in something I call ‘ Once the wool twice the fun” and a few sweaters being taken apart and knitted again.It is what happened with a sweater I knitted for SO. Once finished it was about two sizes too big and quite frankly it was not wearable. Most annoying when you have spent a lot of time and effort on it. So I took it apart again, or at least I tried. Due to the pattern and my excellent ability to secure unstable knitted pieces this resulted in a lot of short strands and very few usable parts of that magnificent yarn. Not very good for the sense of humour.

So I moped around with it for a while. At the same time I was considering a ling held dream to knit a Nordic sweater and preferably on on a circular knit. Of course because I had never done so before and I need a challenge. I sort of had in mind to use the wool yarn I had bought at the Knitting and Stitching show in London a few years back. Then I saw this pattern: Drops Nordic Night and it sort of took over in my mind. I put the two together and decided to use the yarn salvaged from SO’s sweater and the London yarn.

Next I transposed the whole pattern to an excel sheet for easier counting, bought some new needles as the law of knitting states ” though shalt only start a new projects on needles one does not have yet”. From thereon it was knitting, knitting and more knitting

I love watching TV during knitting and during this project I went through one and a half season of Miss Fisher Murder mysteries on Netflix. A series set in the roaring 20’s, in Melbourne with a feisty, strong-willed and independent lady detective. What is not to like 🙂

Anyway I managed to finish the sweater on just about the last coolish day of our almost non existent winter and will have to wait until next year before being able to wear it. But I decided that for the blog I’d have a photoshoot.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, fashion, Home life, Knitting, Review, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

